Historic Preservation Commission

Purpose

 
The Historic Preservation Commission hears and decides requests for Certificates of Appropriateness within local historic districts, submitted by owners of properties in those districts, on matters that exceed the authority of the Planning staff.
 

Meeting


Meetings are generally held on the second Wednesday of each month at 6 p.m. in Council Chambers, located on the third floor of the Municipal Building at 211 S. Hamilton St., High Point, NC 27260. View the 2019 Regular Meeting Schedule (PDF).


 
Agendas


Agendas are available prior to the meetings.
  View Most Recent Agendas

Members, 2019-20

NAME CONTACT INFORMATION TERM EXPIRATION DATE
Janet Catania janet.catania@highpointnc.gov July 1, 2021
Julius Clark julius.clark@highpointnc.gov July 1, 2020
Annette Cox annette.cox@highpointnc.gov July 1, 2022
Dorothy Darr dorothy.darr@highpointnc.gov July 1, 2020
Holly Davis holly.davis@highpointnc.gov  July 1, 2022
Mary Powell DeLille marypowell.delille@highpointnc.gov July 1, 2021
John Fitzwater john.fitzwater@highpointnc.gov July 1, 2020
Jerry Mingo jerry.mingo@highpointnc.gov July 1, 2019
Brenda Stewart brenda.stewart@highpointnc.gov July 1, 2021

Overview


  • The High Point Historic Preservation Commission is a 9-member body appointed by the City Council.
  • Not more than one member may be appointed from each of the City's 3 existing Historic Districts, Johnson Street, Sherrod Park and West High Avenue.
  • The remaining members are appointed from throughout the City.
  • A full term appointment is three years in length.

Historic Districts


Historic Districts are established in order to help maintain and preserve areas of the City that have significant historic or architectural value. Regulations are applied through the use of an overlay zoning district, which sets forth rules that require review of all building activity affecting the exterior of buildings, structures, or site features.
Get Involved
Are you interested in becoming involved in what goes on in High Point? Consider becoming a member of one of the Boards, Commissions and/or Committees. Complete an application to place your name on our list for consideration for when a vacancy occurs.